RSS

go where you believe you will do your best work

06 May

dear you,

the real reason i didn’t write or call for so long in early to mid-april was this: 5 cities, 2 business schools, 9 days. and information overload (stemming from consecutive admitted students weekend to schools i had never visited, my first real VilCap cohort experience, 2 days of face-to-face work with the usually only-skype-accessible DC Agora office, 2 tours of event space for May’s Impact Investing in Action, and i even found time to see some heartbreakingly good bluegrass singing, catch up with new old friends, have some quality time with mom & dad & aunt, and find a bridesmaid dress for my older sister’s wedding!) so, my apologies. (but this girl has priorities.) and i learned a lot. in fact, i was pretty taken aback by how much i learned, and it has taken me this long to process it. in fact, i’m still not done, but i’d like to start sharing:

Attending two ‘admitted students’ events on back-to-back weekends, it was nearly impossible to refrain from  comparing the two, but I tried to see each in their own light. To me, they were incredibly different experiences – and the ways in which they were different, and the the way that one appealed to me, taught me about myself and what I’m looking for in a learning environment, and in life (dramatic, I know).

I want to focus on one thing that continues to resonate with me from my Darden experience. The Dean, Bob Bruner, closed the weekend’s activities (I was initially surprised not to hear from him earlier in the program, but then I got it), and focus of his talk was his go-to advice: Go where you believe you will do your best work.

It seems so simple, doesn’t it? I think the best advice often is. He continued on, deconstructing this sentence, offering various possible interpretations of each component. The more I think about this, the more applicable it is, to so many moments. It seems to me that, being 26, I have lots of friends in transition right now. (I started to list some shout outs here, but there were too many). Transitions of varying nature, and varying magnitude. And for many of us, the implications of this advice are equally important: it challenges us to know enough about our “best work” to strive for it. In the context of your transition, what does “your best work” mean to you?

And because so many have inquired, here is a brief and non-comprehensive list of other things about Darden I find compelling:

  • The students: chill, yet studious; understated, yet ambitious.
  • The application question: Share your perspective on leadership in the workplace and describe how it has been shaped by the increasing influence of globalization. I really enjoyed writing this essay. If you’ve read previous entries on this blog, you might guess that I had a lot to say about this. And that I had a difficult time limiting myself to 500 words.
  • Recognition of, and momentum around, innovationrole of design in business.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
